MIT community members elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Seven MIT researchers are among the many 106 new members and 18 worldwide members elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) this week. Fourteen further MIT alumni, together with one member of the MIT Company, had been additionally elected as new members.

One of many highest skilled distinctions for engineers, membership to the NAE is given to people who’ve made excellent contributions to “engineering analysis, observe, or training, together with, the place acceptable, important contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of recent and creating fields of know-how, making main developments in conventional fields of engineering, or creating/implementing revolutionary approaches to engineering training.”

See also  Benjamin Mangrum receives the 2023 Levitan Prize in the Humanities

The seven MIT researchers elected this yr embody:

Regina Barzilay, the College of Engineering Distinguished Professor for AI and Well being within the Division of Electrical Engineering and Laptop Science, principal investigator on the Laptop Science and Synthetic Intelligence Laboratory, and school lead for the MIT Abdul Latif Jameel Clinic for Machine Studying in Well being, for machine studying fashions that perceive constructions in textual content, molecules, and medical photographs.

Markus J. Buehler, the Jerry McAfee (1940) Professor in Engineering from the Division of Civil and Environmental Engineering, for implementing the usage of nanomechanics to mannequin and design fracture-resistant bioinspired supplies.

Elfatih A.B. Eltahir SM ’93, ScD ’93, the H.M. King Bhumibol Professor within the Division of Civil and Environmental Engineering, for advancing understanding of how local weather and land use influence water availability, environmental and human well being, and vector-borne illnesses.

Neil Gershenfeld, director of the Heart for Bits and Atoms, for eliminating boundaries between digital and bodily worlds, from quantum computing to digital supplies to the web of issues.

Roger D. Kamm SM ’73, PhD ’77, the Cecil and Ida Inexperienced Distinguished Professor of Organic and Mechanical Engineering, for contributions to the understanding of mechanics in biology and medication, and management in biomechanics.

David W. Miller ’82, SM ’85, ScD ’88, the Jerome C. Hunsaker Professor within the Division of Aeronautics and Astronautics, for contributions in management know-how for space-based telescope design, and management in cross-agency steering of house know-how.

David Simchi-Levi, professor of civil and environmental engineering, core college member within the Institute for Knowledge, Programs, and Society, and principal investigator on the Laboratory for Data and Determination Programs, for contributions utilizing optimization and stochastic modeling to boost provide chain administration and operations.

Fariborz Maseeh ScD ’90, life member of the MIT Company and member of the College of Engineering Dean’s Advisory Council, was additionally elected as a member for management and advances in environment friendly design, improvement, and manufacturing of microelectromechanical techniques, and for empowering engineering expertise by way of public service.

13 further alumni had been elected to the Nationwide Academy of Engineering this yr. They’re: Mark George Allen SM ’86, PhD ’89; Shorya Awtar ScD ’04; Inderjit Chopra ScD ’77; David Huang ’85, SM ’89, PhD ’93; Eva Lerner-Lam SM ’78; David F. Merrion SM ’59; Virginia Norwood ’47; Martin Gerard Plys ’80, SM ’81, ScD ’84; Mark Prausnitz PhD ’94; Anil Kumar Sachdev ScD ’77; Christopher Scholz PhD ’67; Melody Ann Swartz PhD ’98; and Elias Towe ’80, SM ’81, PhD ’87.

“I’m delighted that seven members of MIT’s college and plenty of members of the broader MIT group had been elected to the Nationwide Academy of Engineering this yr,” says Anantha Chandrakasan, the dean of the MIT College of Engineering and the Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Laptop Science. “My warmest congratulations on this recognition of their many contributions to engineering analysis and training.”

Together with this yr’s inductees, 156 members of the Nationwide Academy of Engineering are present or retired members of the MIT college and workers, or members of the MIT Company.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *