England confirm squad numbers for 2022 World Cup

England have confirmed their squad numbers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, with them suggesting Jordan Pickford has held onto his starting spot.

Pickford has been a trusted member of Gareth Southgate’s team since he was appointed, and played a key role in the runs to the World Cup semi-final in 2018 and the Euro 2020 final.

Although he has been one of the few Everton players to emerge with credit from the first half of the Premier League season, Pickford’s place has come under threat by Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale. However, him being handed the number one jersey is a big hint that he has held off that challenge.

See also  Vincent Kompany jokes he wouldn't take Cristiano Ronaldo at Burnley

Ultimately, though, it is difficult to read too much into the list, with the vast majority of players wearing the same numbers that they wore in Euro 2020.

Harry Symeou hosts Scott Saunders, Grizz Khan & Jack Gallagher to look back on France ’98 as part of the ‘Our World Cup’ series. We take a trip down memory lane – join us!

Callum Wilson will wear 24 at the World Cup, James Madison 25 and Conor Gallagher 26. Meanwhile, Jude Bellingham, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Bukayo Saka will all wear different numbers to those they had in the Euros.

1. Jordan Pickford
2. Kyle Walker
3. Luke Shaw
4. Declan Rice
5. John Stones
6. Harry Maguire
7. Jack Grealish
8. Jordan Henderson
9. Harry Kane
10. Raheem Sterling
11. Marcus Rashford
12. Kieran Trippier
13. Nick Pope
14. Kalvin Phillips
15. Eric Dier
16. Conor Coady
17. Bukayo Saka
18. Trent Alexander-Arnold
19. Mason Mount
20. Phil Foden
21. Ben White
22. Jude Bellingham
23. Aaron Ramsdale
24. Callum Wilson
25. James Maddison
26. Conor Gallagher

England will start their campaign against Iran on November 21 with fixtures against USA and Wales to follow in the group stage.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *